About WIEC

Our Mission

We are committed to giving our member-owners the most reliable, cost-effective service possible. 

Our Vision

To seek the highest level of member satisfaction while improving the quality of life for our members, our employees, and our communities.

Western Illinois Electrical Coop. is a member-owned electrical cooperative based in Carthage, Illinois. Organized in 1938, WIEC was established to bring the convenience of electricity to the rural areas of Hancock and Henderson Counties. (The service territory now includes portions of Adams and McDonough Counties as well.) Since that time, we have been committed to providing our members (around 3600 currently) the best, most reliable electric and customer service possible There are 7 Cooperative Principles that guide cooperatives and date back to 1844. These principles are the key reason WIEC operates differently from investor-owned electric utilities. One of the principles is that we are owned by those we serve. The members choose who represents them. WIEC is governed by a seven-member board of directors, who are each elected to a three-year staggered term. For a map of our service territory and the director elected from each district, click here. The directors are elected by the members at our Annual Meeting, which is usually held on the fourth Thursday in June.

Board of Directors

District 1

Kim Gullberg


Assistant Secretary-Treasurer

District 2

Dustin Walker


Vice President

District 3

Jay Morrison


District 4

Stephen Patrick


District 5

Mark Burling



District 6

Landon Guymon


District 7

Janet Spory




Todd Grotts

General Manager

Ryan Biery

Manager of Operations

Wendi Whitaker

Finance and Accounting Manger

Eric Johnson

Line Foreman

Karmen Metternich

Billing Coordinator

Cody Grainger

Area Service Technician

Andy Lafeber

Crew Foreman

Tim Shumate

Journeyman Lineworker

Mandy Steinkamp

Administrative Professional

David Peer

Staking Technician

Kyle Tanner

Apprentice Lineworker

Dusty Waddell

Apprentice Lineworker

Mitch Reed


Konner Leedy

Apprentice Lineworker